Time flies

Wow. Has it really been 4 months since I last posted?? One minute I’m living it up in York and the next, well I don’t like to mention the C word but the doors on Eddy’s advent calendar (yes, he and Molly both still have one at ages 15 and 18) are getting ripped off at an alarming rate of knots!

What have you all been up to over the last few months? We waved Molly off to university in September so life has been a little different at the Pud residence since then. I was absolutely dreading her going but I’ve made sure I keep her updated on every minutiae of daily life with the boys including regular pictures of Ralph sleeping, reporting daft things that Pud and Eddy say, and a weekly debriefing of Strictly Come Dancing. It’s almost as though she still lives here, poor girl.

It’s a strange feeling when your first child leaves home. One minute they’re snuggled up on the sofa, sipping warm milk from their little pink beaker while watching In The Night Garden (I’m still not convinced about Iggle Piggle – some highly questionable behaviour there), and the next they’re sending you pictures of them drunkenly sitting on top of a bus shelter in the early hours of the morning when they should be tucked up in bed (that’s my girl).

It doesn’t make me feel old as such but it definitely makes me nostalgic about those carefree student days when confidence was high and the price of a bottle of K Cider was low. It’s made me stop and re-evaluate what I’m doing and where I’m going in life. My role as a parent is changing, the demands on me are lessening and that’s quite a strange feeling to get to grips with. Suddenly I have more time on my hands that I’m not yet sure what to do with (apart from bombarding Molly with Snapchat messages πŸ˜‰).

I find I’m putting pressure on myself to fill this new-found spare time. For some reason I feel a need to do something amazing, to achieve something really spectacular. Trouble is I can’t pinpoint what it is I actually want to do. Maybe I’ll write that best selling novel at long last. Perhaps I can open my dream 1950s soda bar complete with fully working jukebox. Maybe I’ll cycle from Land’s End to John o’Groats. Or could this be the perfect opportunity to finally master the perfect omelette (I’ve never made one yet that doesn’t crawl out the pan, apologising profusely for its unrecognisable features and flavours)?

One thing I have done recently is apply for a new job and I went for my first interview in a good few years last week. This is a whole post in itself which I may share when I’ve got over the trauma. Suffice it to say I didn’t get the job.

But it’s a start. And so is coming back to my blog.

Maybe baby steps are the way forward πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Time flies

Don't be shy, I'd love to hear from you!